Penalties for a DUI that Results in Injury or Death in CaliforniaSan Diego Legal News
It is, unfortunately, true that hundreds, even thousands of serious motor vehicle accidents are reported throughout the state of California each and every year. In many cases, these collisions are caused by the actions of intoxicated drivers with 1,059 drunk driving-related fatalities reported in 2016, alone. As tragic as these types of accidents are, there are often various factors in each unique circumstance, and anyone being accused of causing such a crash must understand the severe penalties for a serious DUI in California.
The Rate of Injury or Fatal DUI Accidents Across California
Tragically, 10,327 people were killed in collisions involving an intoxicated driver between 2003 and 2012, according to the Centers for Disease Control (CDC). In the year 2013, the number of injuries that were triggered by DUI-related collisions was recorded as 23,178 in California. The statistics alone show that when people engage in drinking and driving, there are obviously serious risks involved. While this is not revolutionary information, it certainly warrants a deeper look into these incidents.
A California DUI is a serious charge, be it a first, second, third offense, or worse; an accusation that involves injuries or death. It may go without saying that alcohol impairs one’s ability to make the right decision and that no one who is intoxicated should get behind the wheel in the first place. However, in the event of such a tremendous mistake, particularly one that resulted in the harm of an innocent party, emotions are often rightfully elevated and it is important to contact legal representation to ensure a fair outcome for everyone.
Penalties for California DUI Offenses
The penalties vary as one would likely expect. In California, first, second, and third offenses are all considered misdemeanors, although the degree of penalties increases correlating with each offense. Fines will likely range between $390 to $1,000 depending on previous convictions much like the length of jail time (if any), length of probationary periods, and hours of classes can range dramatically, as well. License suspensions are guaranteed following any California DUI conviction, however, the inclusion of an ignition interlock device, like the length of subsequent classes, may depend on the BAC of the accused as well as other pertinent factors.
In DUI accidents that resulted in the injury or death of another person, the sentences can range from as short as one year up to life imprisonment. While any conviction will certainly result in some form of punishment, it is important for all the facts to be laid out fairly in a court of law. Obtaining a highly skilled DUI criminal defense attorney is the most important step that you can take following such a charge.
DUI Criminal Defense Attorney in California
At Coastal Legal Center, we are exceedingly dedicated to our fellow citizens of San Diego, as well as the state of California, and we believe that each and every individual warrants the basic right to the presumption of innocence. We work on behalf of our clients to ensure the most effective outcome is reached in order to prevent otherwise good people from traveling down the long dark path of a complex criminal justice system by themselves. If you have found yourself charged with a DUI in San Diego, please don’t hesitate to begin protecting yourself today by calling 619-231-0724 to schedule a free consultation.